Be That Friend.

Posted: June 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

“It’s so sad, Rebecca…” My coworker wiped down another plastic tray. “It’ just horrible.” She shook her blond curls.

I too, shook my head. Funerals were not fun. An understatement, obviously. Feelings of gloom seem to rest on her shoulders. It was a difficult death; with it would be a difficult funeral.

What could I say?

I reach toward her. “Hey…it’s okay to cry.”

She nods. “I know. That’s all I’ll be doing at the funeral tonight.”

I smiled softly. “Don’t wear too much eyeliner, okay?”

We both laugh.

The day is better.

We need those friends, don’t we? The ones that tell us there’s a brown smudge on the butt of our pants. Or a forgotten curler in our hair. Or a booger hanging from our nose. The ones that give us a hug despite our sweat and make brownies when we’re sad. The ones that tell us not to freak out over burnt water or stinkbugs or weak coffee…the ones that tell us not to wear too much eyeliner at the funeral. The ones that see us at our worst and love us as if at our best.

Be that friend.

And you will have those friends.

Comments
  1. Katrina says:

    I totally love that!

  2. reneeboomer says:

    Beautiful post. 🙂

I want to hear from you. Seriously. I mean that.

